Vacation Rental Marketing Guides

Simple guides for smart vacation rental owners

Niche marketing – No thanks – I’d rather go fishing I was inspired to write this post because I just…

Leave a comment

Niche marketing – No thanks – I’d rather go fishing
I was inspired to write this post because I just read an article on vacation rentals and niche marketing and it said that “as a strategy, niche marketing is aimed at being a big fish in a small pond instead of being a small fish in a big pond.”

That lead me to thinking “why would anybody want to be constrained by a small pond?” –

“why not aspire to be a big fish in a big pond?” 

Talking of fish and ponds…

You may not know this but my brother likes fishing. He goes fishing when he can. He heads off to the local pond with his rod, reel and box of tackle and spends the day trying to catch a fish or two.  Sometimes he catches a few.  Sometimes he catches nothing. Sometimes he hooks a fish and it gets away and that’s a real disappointment to him.

You may not know this either but I’m a professional fisherman. I go fishing every day. I head off in my trawler and cast my big net. I catch lots of fish on a daily basis. Big ones and small ones.
Some fish escape the net when I bring it in but I don’t care because my net is full of other fish, I’m rarely disappointed.

What’s this got to do with niche marketing?

I’m thinking that fishing with just one rod, line and hook is just like niche marketing as it really limits the number of fish (guests) that you may catch. If you only use one type of bait other fish that come along may not like that bait and they will swim away looking for different food (lost bookings).

Read the rest of this article here http://bit.ly/1jybINF
#nichemarketing   #holidayrentals   #hummingbird  

from Public RSS-Feed of rentmoreweeks. Created with the PIXELMECHANICS ‘GPlusRSS-Webtool’ at http://gplusrss.com http://ift.tt/Mge06p
via IFTTT

Leave a Reply

